PDA

View Full Version : PC Upgrade help


Bar-Steward
29-12-2004, 11:00 AM
OK, I'm looking in the first two months of the year to upgrade my current PC with new bits and bobs to be fast enough to play BFV better, BF2 & Brothers in Arms.

Currently I have an AMD XP 2000+ with 1gb ram.

I was thinking of doing something like below:
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.2 GHz Socket 754, 512 KB cache, BOXED
MSI K8N NEO Platinum Edition
Corsair Value S. PC3200 DDR-DIMM 512MB Unbuffered, Non-parity, 64Megx64, CL2.

Based on the kit here : http://www.komplett.nl/k/ki.asp?sku=118126&cks=PRL

I will probably want an extra 512 mbs RAM, a 10,000 rpm SATA disk for my software (reusing my IDE as a data disk) but I also want a new 256mbs graphics card. I have no idea what is a good one (within a decent price) and which one fits best in this combo. Obviously this spec will change slightly as time passes but I want a good idea now.

It has to fit into my current box with all the other devices. The rest is normal kit, the only thing I don't know about is PSU. What volt/wattage PSU do I need? Does it matter? The PSU is standard to the case (Cheiftec Dragon).

My current spec is here: http://www.familywraith.com/report.txt.

Mr Footlong
29-12-2004, 04:43 PM
I wouldn' recomment a socket 754 chip so late in the day for them tbh. Ideally a socket 939 A64 and MSI Neo 2 s939 motherboard. Pair that up with 2 512mb stick and a X800PRO and you are onto a sweet setup.

Chances are that if you are on the same cpu that came with your case, then pretty likely it is a 350W chieftec PSU as fromem memory those are what shipped with that config. Would strongly, strongly recommend upgrading the psu.

Bar-Steward
29-12-2004, 10:52 PM
So with the socket 939 we are talking something more like :

http://www.komplett.nl/k/ki.asp?sku=111924&cks=PRL

The PSU has not been changed since installation so you are more than likely correct about the 350w status. If I need to upgrade it, what wattage and type should I get? I know even less about PSUs than I do CPUs... lol

ARKANGEL
29-12-2004, 11:09 PM
u will be needing anything between 450 and 500 rating i have a 500 rating and am using 2 dual graphics card,there fairly cheap so no worries there :banana:

Bar-Steward
29-12-2004, 11:11 PM
Just a n00b question. But why would I need to upgrade the PSU. I know its done, but why is it done? Will it really require more power than currently?

Spam
30-12-2004, 12:16 AM
some of the newer components require more power from the psu. also using psu's that come with the case tend to be cheap as shit, and are often unreliable.

best to upgrade the psu to ensure that you have more than enough juice to power you new shiny crap :)

Bar-Steward
30-12-2004, 09:11 AM
Anyone got a recommendation on the best sort of X800Pro? Best and maybe decent. (lol)

I found the following total lot:

109697 Upgrade Kit AMD 64 3500+,Moederbord,
- 1024mb dual channel RAM, Koeler.
- Een toeslag van 0 per artikel zal worden toegevoegd. 1 540 540
122429 Western Digital Raptor 74GB S-ATA
- 8MB cache 10000RPM
- Een toeslag van 0 per artikel zal worden toegevoegd. 1 177 177
300413 Sapphire Radeon X800PRO 256MB GDDR3
- AGP,ATI X800PRO,DVI-I,TV-Out, Full-Retai
- Een toeslag van 0 per artikel zal worden toegevoegd. 1 395 395


thats a total of 1112 euros. I could get away with 34 gb application drive for a littl less (like 50 euros less)