PDA

View Full Version : My first PC, how would u improve this:


imcrap
15-01-2005, 11:53 AM
Right the time has come for me to buy and build my first pc.

What i want in a pc is for it to be able to play the latest games e.g. bf2 very well.
but not hugely expensive. also i dont really plan on overclocking, well not very much :)

case/mobo : i have gone for a shuttle, main reason for this is that i will be going to lans and uni with this comp.

Shuttle SN95G5 Barebone £228.21

Processor: either Athlon64 939 3200+ winchester £152.69 or 3500+ winchester £211.44

Graphics: Either GeForce 6800Le £164.44 (this week only at ocuk) or x800 Pro sapphire radeon £269.00

Memory: Geil 1gb (2x512mb) £96.94 (this week only at ocuk)

Harddisk: Maxtor Diamond plus 10 250gb 16mb cache £105.16 (this week only at ocuk)
also does the 16mb cache make a big deal of difference?

dvd/cd player: Aopen dvd-1684 chameleon £18.09

Keyboard: Logitech Internet Keyboard (Black) £7.52

OS: windows xp oem £57.22


right am i missing anything?
i already have a mouse, a monitor i can use, and i will be buying a lan cable.

how would u suggest i improve on this? also let me know if you can find the prices cheaper.

thanks Mike

Bleak
15-01-2005, 11:57 AM
i can find you a cheaper price for Windows XP ;)

Desperado
15-01-2005, 12:01 PM
I miss a mobo and PSU or are these in the barebone? 16 mb Cache isn't a big deal, the setup is nice. Could you give me some more details on the RAM?

PS. Dont buy windows, I vouch for piracy :P

whothedaddy
15-01-2005, 12:01 PM
i can find you a less then cheaper price of XP....

worth a pint of stella at i23 with a cd and working cd key for all updates :)

Bleak
15-01-2005, 12:03 PM
desp, the mobo and PSU will come included with the Shuttle

also if you're going for a 6800, don't get anything less than the GT tbh. and if you get the GT it comes with a cooler so big it won't fit in the shuttle, cheers nvidia. i think the X800 would be the safer bet on the graphics side of things

Cyprio
15-01-2005, 12:10 PM
16mb is the biggest cache you can get in a SATA HD. That Maxtor is the fastest 7,200 RPM drive atm. Check out warranty and stuff though. I know there is one company (might be Seagate) that does a 5 year warranty. The other option is the Raptor...only 74 gig though and a lot more expensive for the size. You might be better off getting a single high capacity/fast drive like the Maxtor for a shuttle.

I might get some better RAM (CAS 2 not 2.5 like that Geil mem). The Crucial 1GB (2x512MB) DDR PC3200 Ballistix Dual Channel Kit (MY-033-CR) is great value for £150 or so at overclockers.

|FTA|Morbid
15-01-2005, 12:31 PM
desp, the mobo and PSU will come included with the Shuttle

also if you're going for a 6800, don't get anything less than the GT tbh. and if you get the GT it comes with a cooler so big it won't fit in the shuttle, cheers nvidia. i think the X800 would be the safer bet on the graphics side of things

pardon? ;)

http://uk.asus.com/products/vga/v9999gt/overview.htm

What i have got its amazingly sweet. Got it running at ultra speeds at 45c under full load.

Bleak
15-01-2005, 12:38 PM
morb if you see some coolers on nvidia cards they take up 2 slots (pretty much the same size as an arctic cooler) and a shuttle only has space for 1 where the gfx card goes. if you look at pics of Cyprios shuttle somwhere on the forums you'll see that if you have something the size of an arctic cooler on your card, combined with a shuttle it doesn't fit. unless you do what Cyp did and make a hole in his side window for it.

|FTA|Morbid
15-01-2005, 12:40 PM
I know mate, i've seen the pitcures mate. But this card has a one slot design, its very quiet and cools the card very well :) Bit out of your bros price range though :eek:

http://uk.asus.com/products/vga/v9999gt/v9999ultra_l.jpg

Kell
15-01-2005, 02:51 PM
I've got one of those and it rocks ^, quiet...hmmm relative I guess..

StuntMonkey
16-01-2005, 02:45 AM
PM me your addy and I'll post you a LAN cable. Let me know what length.... :)
It will be blue or black - you choose!

Rex Hunt
16-01-2005, 11:12 AM
Heres my xpc rig :

Shuttle SN95G5 Socket 939 Barebone NVIDIA nForce 3 Ultra chipset Black
OCZ Platinum EL Dual Channel Kit 2x512MB PC3200 CL 2-3-2-5
AMD (Newcastle) Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2GHz 512kb L2Cache 939pin
Western Digital 160GB Serial ATA150 7200rpm 8mb Cache
Sony 3.5 Floppy Drive Black
Philips DVDR1640 16x DVD/R/RW Dual Layer Internal IDE Black
ATI Radeon X800xt 256mb Ddr - Agp Dvi/tvo/vivo

Humour
16-01-2005, 11:22 AM
Very Tasty Rex ;) which Flat Panel is that on the pic?

Mr Footlong
16-01-2005, 11:25 AM
Sorry Morb, maybe for you that GT rocks, but having had those card now in comparison with The best ATI has to offer, I can say with great happiness and without a shadow of a doubt that they are not as good, as I said to you m8 :(. Nvidia are still playing catchup.

Getting a card just because you are clinging to Smart Shader and Pixel Shader 3 giving you 10million times the performance in Quake 4 etc is a pretty big gamble :D

Also, I find 45c under full 3d graphics load to be a complete and utter miracle m8. Noone I know get there anywhere near that. Just sitting here mine is idling at 57c and normally hits 75c playing games, which is well regarded to be the norm. I would be trusting your probe too much until you go scour the net for loads of other folk saying the same thing.

Also, playing at any half decent resolution and putting the pretty settings on results in the card getting absolutely raped compared to the ATI's, so badly that is heavily noticeably to my eyes when playing, but I have gone over this in another thread on here.

Good card morb, but simply not as good in my experience over the last 5 months.

Mr Footlong
16-01-2005, 11:28 AM
Hum, with 1gb+ ram and fast HD's, moving swapfiles around is a complete waste of time. I have no idea why folks even bother nowadays tbh, as the performance gains are negligable at best compared with back in the 95/98 days and poor amounts of ram.

Also I am not 100% sure on the layout in the 95, but with the 75 etc, you put 2 hard drives in there and they bloody cook themselves right through. Complete gamble on your data if you put 2 in IMO. But as I said, they MAY have managed to space the 3.5" areas out a touch?

Rex Hunt
16-01-2005, 11:42 AM
Hum its a IIYAMA Prolite E431S its a nice monitor but mine has 1 dead pixel :(

|FTA|Morbid
16-01-2005, 12:29 PM
:P I'm Tempted to sell up my Rad 9700 pro sell this and for a Rad x800 xt pe now :( FS!

Rex Hunt
16-01-2005, 12:54 PM
LOL morb if its running games fine why bother if your getting 60+ FPS in games at a res you are happy with don't waiste your money.

|FTA|Morbid
16-01-2005, 04:03 PM
true, FarCry looks amazing with this card :eek:

imcrap
17-01-2005, 10:58 AM
right. thanks for info so far. ive looked around and ive found this memory and a cheaper price on processor

memory: Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2 DDR-DIMM 1024MB Kit w/two matched CMX512-3200C2 DIMMs £137.50

processor: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2.2 GHz Socket 939, 512KB cache £192.00

Desperado
17-01-2005, 11:18 AM
Good choice, make sure you get a winchester core since they are cooler and have higher overclocking potential (thx to the 90nm process)

|FTA|Morbid
17-01-2005, 12:59 PM
Mike, i got that ram its good stuff, highly recommended!

Opti
17-01-2005, 01:15 PM
The XL kit is even cheaper over here then the "normal" set. Corsair.

imcrap
20-01-2005, 10:18 AM
right thanks for every1's suggestions, the parts have been ordered :D

these are the components:

Shuttle SN95G5 Barebone
Athlon 64 939 3500+ winchester
Sapphire Radeon X800PRO VIVO 256MB DDR AGP,ATI X800PRO (would had got a cheper x800 pro but none in stock, so got vivo instead :D)
Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2 DDR-DIMM 1024MB (2x512)
Maxtor Diamond plus 10 250gb 16mb cache
Aopen dvd-1684 chameleon
Logitech Internet Keyboard (Black)

im looking forward to putting this beast together :D

Opti
20-01-2005, 01:01 PM
Sweet :D

wiz4rd
23-01-2005, 08:49 PM
Check out warranty and stuff though. I know there is one company (might be Seagate) that does a 5 year warranty

Indeed we do, a 5yr warranty is available on all the latest gen products, check out the website at www.seagate.com

imcrap
24-01-2005, 06:21 PM
The comp is up and running. It looks great and it runs smootly. all in all im very happy :D :D :D

big thanks to bonce who did the majority of putting the comp together.

i ran 3d mark and got a respectable score of about 23000. this now means i23 is a deffo go go, so u'll get 2 see it there.

thanks to all ur help.

Mike